1 Comment

My analog srs and the way i use it.

Recently i have been using paper flashcard to learn kanji.  I write them in the heisig format(keyword and story on front,kanji on the back) but i use a lazy kanji/heisig format to study them. The way this works is that i look at the picture first to see if i can remember it, then i turn it over and look at the keyword and try to write the kanji from memory. I am finding that this is working just as well as a digital srs, plus it’s just as fun. 🙂 The reason i use flashcards instead of digital media is not becaue i hate digital media, no no quite the oposite. I love digital media in all it’s forms video games, mp3, mp4,dvds, etc but it’s mainly for convenience, because i work at a Home Depot, so i can’t walk around with a cellphone in my hand all day( i’ve gotten in trouble for that twice already…lol) so for me and for the sake of my job it’s better to go analog. I don’t have to worry about turning it on, or wasting the battery life of my phone, or getting in trouble with the Home Depot management. I’ve been doing this for about two weeks now, and so far i’ve had good results. Well, thats it for now. I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

One comment on “My analog srs and the way i use it.

  1. I do that too – not always paper flashcards per se, but sometimes just vocab lists to kill spare minutes at work. it’s always had nice results, maybe because of ‘critical frequency’ (or whatever the name is…)

Leave a Reply

